The Craft of Writing

A quote to inspire this week of revisions:

“Craft enables art.

There’s luck in art. There’s the gift. You can’t earn that. You can’t deserve it. But you can learn skill, you can earn it. You can learn to deserve your gift….

To make something well is to give yourself to it, to seek wholeness, to follow spirit. To learn to make something well can take your whole life. It’s worth it.”

– Ursula K. Le Guin, in “Steering the Craft”

This week, when I’m doing so much practicing of my craft, when I’m sitting down to look at the bones of my manuscript and how to make it as fully-formed as possible, I will remember that every writer must hone her skill. Every word I’ve ever written helps me as I face this revision. Doing right by this story means making it – and me – whole. 

I’ll let you know how it goes.

About Heather Richard

I am a story catcher. I catch love stories and weave them into beautiful wedding ceremonies. I also catch stories of bravery and turn them into novels for young people. View all posts by Heather Richard

Thoughts?